Next: build your own GTM agent in minutesStart free ›

Best Lead Generation APIs for AI Agents (2026)

If you are building an agent that prospects, the API underneath decides what it can do and what every call costs. Eight APIs compared on the things that matter to builders.

What is the best lead generation API for AI agents?

Layrcake, if your agent runs outbound and not only lookups. It is go-to-market infrastructure for AI agents: a REST API and a hosted MCP server with the same verbs, paid per result at $0.01 a credit, with misses free and the exact charge reported on every response. Behind one key it covers people and company search, work emails, verification, buying signals, public posts and engagers, sourced research, campaigns and replies.

APIPricing modelA miss costsMCP
LayrcakePay per result, $0.01 a credit; 300 free creditsNothingYes, OAuth or key
ZoomInfo GTM AIFree start, then pay-as-you-go from $20Search and lookup free; empty enrich not statedYes, OAuth
Crustdata$20 free; self-serve credits; real-time from four figures a monthEmpty search free; unmatched contact enrich freeYes, OAuth or key
ExploriumPrepaid packages from $29.99 for 500 creditsNot statedYes, key or connector
People Data LabsFree tier; Pro from $98 a monthNothing: "We charge per match"Not stated
FullEnrichFree trial; Pro from $29 a monthNothingYes
LushaFree plan; API from ProSearch charged per successful resultYes, OAuth or key
HunterFree plan with API access; paid plansNot statedYes, key or OAuth

Vendor pages, checked 18 October 2026. Hunter's prices were shown in euros from our location, so we left them out.

What should an agent builder look for?

Pay per result. Agents call in bursts and retry. Per-result pricing keeps cost tied to outcomes; seats and monthly allowances don't map to an agent.

Free misses. An agent will look up people who have no findable email. If misses cost, a bad list burns budget for nothing.

The charge on every response. An agent can only respect a budget it can see. Layrcake returns credits_charged on every call; Crustdata returns credits used in a response header; People Data Labs returns x-call-credits-spent.

MCP and REST with one contract. Prototype in Claude over MCP, ship in your code over REST, same verbs and arguments.

A safe way to act. If the agent will send email, the API should stop at a preview and an approval link. Layrcake's launch, mailbox and reply tools all do.

1. Layrcake: the outbound loop behind one key

Prices on 18 October 2026: 0.25 credits per person from a search, 5 per work email found, 1.25 per verification, 11 per company hiring now, 9 per sourced company research, 3.5 per company answered by a yes/no website check, and campaigns free (pricing). The API reference and OpenAPI spec cover every verb, and /agents.md is written for agents to read.

From our runs

20 heads of sales to 15 verified, ready-to-send drafts: 145 credits. Everyone who engaged with a 563-person LinkedIn post, filtered to 26 sales leaders: 232.2 credits.

2–8. The data APIs

ZoomInfo GTM AI. ZoomInfo's company, contact and intent data through one API, with MCP, API and CLI access on the free tier: 1,000 data and 1,000 AI credits, then pay-as-you-go from $20 (GTM AI pricing).

Crustdata. Real-time people, company, job and post data with watchers; "Every API response includes a header showing the credits that call used" (Crustdata pricing).

Explorium. "The B2B data foundation for AI agents", sold as prepaid credit packages that are valid for 12 months, with an MCP server and a Claude connector (Explorium pricing).

People Data Labs. A person and company data API for builders, charged per match, with a free tier where contact data is hidden and Pro from $98 a month (PDL pricing).

FullEnrich. Waterfall enrichment for emails and mobiles across 25-plus sources; nothing found means nothing charged (FullEnrich pricing).

Lusha. Contacts, company data and buying signals; its MCP server lists 50 tools and API access starts at Pro (Lusha pricing).

Hunter. Email finding and verification, with API access on the free plan and an MCP server included on all plans (Hunter MCP).

How do you start?

Prototype in Claude or Claude Code with the MCP server, then call the same verbs over REST from your agent. The Claude Code setup guide has the files, and new Layrcake accounts get 300 free credits.

Questions people ask

What is the best API for an AI sales agent?

For agents that run outbound, Layrcake: one REST API and MCP server for people, emails, verification, signals, public posts, research, campaigns and replies, paid per result with free misses and the charge on every response.

Which lead generation APIs charge nothing for a miss?

Per their own pages on 18 October 2026: Layrcake, People Data Labs (charged per match), FullEnrich, and Crustdata on empty searches and unmatched contact enrichment.

Do lead generation APIs work with Claude?

Most now offer MCP servers: Layrcake, ZoomInfo GTM AI, Crustdata, Explorium, FullEnrich, Lusha and Hunter all list one.

ShareAll guides
Your next move

Give your AI agent the key to go to market.

The right companies, people, details and signals, all available through one API key. Ready for your AI agent the moment you paste it. Nothing sends until you say so. Free to start, then pay as you go.

mcp url · https://mcp.layrcake.dev/mcp 300 free credits · No card required